Working out and eating well

I think I found my life passion and that is fitness. As I progressively work on my body, I have seen many positive changes and how I love being soaked in sweat after a tough workout. Pushing further though it seems impossible to do so, and achieving what I previously thought I wouldn’t at all. Lifting that dumbbell or dropping for another push up doesn’t seems as easy as it possibly would after some kick-ass resistance circuits. Seriously, the start was never easy.

I don’t know how to explain this feeling of mine but I thought the sense of achievement and empowerment from working out is not what money can bring about, but something stronger mentally. The mind is the trigger point of an empowered person, vice versa, a lazy person. People often say they have no time because they are busy with work/family/friends/self, but who’s not? We all need to prioritize what is most important to us. If health is, then why not work harder and eat better?

10731086_10152538216472746_2807540559096527984_n

Another point to note is that fitness is not just about working out but also eating well. Proper nourishment for the body is essential and in fact, more important than exercising.

                                     Do you know the 70/30 rule?

70% – Food and 30% – Exercise. This also means that no amount of exercise can ever make up for a poor diet. The truth is that no matter how many times in a week you have exercised, it will all count for absolutely nothing if you are not paying attention to your diet. The only way to lose flab is to reduce intake for fat, oil, salt and sugar. In return, to fuel our body with fresh vegetables, fruits and lean protein source. This is because you cannot convert fat into muscle or vice-versa. Therefore doing stomach exercises without changing your diet may well make your stomach look bigger as you could be building some muscles underneath the fat. (Read more)

Personally, I am reducing my frequency eating out and preparing my own meals as much as possible. Meal preparation is definitely not an easy task as it is time consuming and troublesome. But it will be worth it as I know what kind of food is going into my body – No MSG, Less or No Sodium, Less or No Oil lastly, Clean Produce (Washed Vegetables, Fresh Meat). Having control of the taste, cooking method and enjoying the process of nourishment. I love cooking too! Heh.

Step-by-Step for Meal Preparation (My kind of menu)

  1. Stock up on food source
  • Protein – Eggs, Tofu, Chicken Breast Meat, Lean Beef, Lean Pork, Fish (Salmon, Tuna, Cod, Threadfin), Seafood (Prawn)
  • Dairy/Non-Dairy – Oat/Soy/Rice Milk, Skim Milk, Chocolate Milk, Low Fat Yoghurt
  • Green Vegetables – Broccoli, Cauliflower, Lady Fingers, Spinach, any kind will do
  • Fruits – Tomato, Apples, Avocado, Berries, Banana, Grapes, Kiwi, Melons, Pineapple, Pears
  • Spices – Black Pepper, Sea Salt, Garlic, Onions (my favourite!)
  • Fats – Nuts (Almonds, Brazil Nuts, Macadamia), Nut Butter, Olive Oil, Canola Oil
  • Carbohydrates – Rolled Oats, Museli, Brown Rice, Red Rice, White Rice, Whole Grain Bread, Wholemeal Pasta, Sweet Potatoes, Pumpkin, Corn, Vermicelli, Mee Sua.

(Some of my breakfast photos)1924731_10152527708712746_3173290777297229456_n10464296_10152544185272746_4763243704541580535_n10624829_10152436106167746_5224175178760239460_n

Have a mixture of food source and study your portion size. I usually have a mix of everything in my meals. A typical day of breakfast – Overnight Oats with fruits or nuts topping/ Blended juice or smoothie, lunch will be vegetables fish noodle soup or tuna sandwiches, Dinner will be steamed salmon, stir fry vegetables and egg.

Snack-in-between: Handful of Nuts/ Fruit/ Cup of Milk

  1. Cooking Method:
  • Boiling
  • Steaming (My favourite method, hassle free and easy to clean!)
  • Stir-frying
  • Roasting

Decide on your favourite recipe and try them! Do reduce the usage of oil, salt, seasonings and sugar. Throw in some healthy spices instead of heavily sodium loaded seasonings, which better enhance the taste with added nutrition!

  1. Serve them! Otherwise, place them into a container and fridge them for tomorrow’s consumption.

Healthy food can taste great too! Banish that wrongful mindset about healthy food being bland and tasteless. By changing your mindset, you are allowing yourself to accept good food – leading to a better nourished body. Do you really need SO MUCH junk food? Really?

Great things never came from comfort zones, it will only come if you get up from that snooze alarm to work out, choose the right food, give it a 101% and be consistent. It will be a painstakingly journey but it is all going to be worth it! Do it for yourself, cause no one can ever do it for you. 

10408081_10152552270757746_9215847036880573735_n

                      “Without struggle there is no progress.”

12 thoughts on “Working out and eating well

  1. Inspiring post! I too am trying to get back into shape. I eat well, but I always like to see other ideas for nutritious options. Haven’t tried overnight oats. For me, my issue is the exercise part of it. Getting out in the cooler weather to run/walk/bike is difficult for me and indoor exercise is not my thing. Will have to find something I can stick with!

    • Thanks there! You can try overnight oats with nuts & fruits! It will be a fantastic breakfast to boost your day. Working out requires much effort and motivation! Keep going!

  2. Very good points and well put too. It’s refreshing to see an attitude like this in one so (may I say it?) young. It’s essential that you do your own researches and form your own conclusions. And I’ll bet you’re a superlative dancer!

    The Spouse and I eat simply but well, and if we have a weakness it’s (a) coffee, and (b) chocolate.

    Advice from an old dog? Let your movement express your emotions (just don’t get locked up—too many people don’t understand life) and vice-versa. Good luck!

    • Hi Argus,

      Thank you for your comment! I will definitely continue to pursue what I love and that is fitness and eating well in life. I believe by blogging, I could pen down my experiences and the things that I have learnt during this journey. I know it will be a good reflection log book when I look back next time. Anyways, good luck too! 🙂

    • Hello Indah, thank you for the compliment on my blog post, it really meant so much to me. I hope to share my fitness journey and to inspire people around me. I find strength in checking my own progress and updating my personal experiences! I do hope that you can continue with your fitness lifestyle as health is everything in life. Let’s work harder!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

